Lisa & AJ - Open Arms Adoptions

View our full profile here

About Us:

We are AJ and Lisa. We live in a small town in central Ohio. We first met at AJ’s cousin’s wedding, where Lisa was a bridesmaid.  We instantly connected but had to navigate a long distance relationship.  Eventually AJ moved to Ohio where our relationship grew.  As a couple, we love to travel, go antique shopping, listen to records, and cook.  We both have older sisters and are both close to our families.  Lisa has two nephews who are the light of her life. Lisa and AJ were excited to meet their new niece in 2018. Lisa loves to play Barbies and dress up with her. We love spending time with our niece and nephews by taking the boys to Ohio State football games, having sleepovers, girls nights, attending their sporting events, playing board games, or watching a movie.  They are the reason we want a family.


Lisa was born in Illinois, and moved to Ohio when she was 8 years old.  She graduated from The Ohio State University with a degree in humanities, then went to Clark State and received a degree in photography.  Lisa worked as a professional wedding photographer for almost ten years.  She has since retired from professional photography and now takes pictures for fun.  Her favorite subjects are her niece and nephews.  Lisa now works for Ohio Health as an at home medical biller.  She loves listening to audio books, going on walks, dancing, and hanging out with her family and friends.  Lisa comes from a big family, and family gatherings are always full of aunts, uncles, and cousins running around and having fun.  Lisa’s favorite holiday is Christmas. Her grandparents always made Christmas special with lots of food, gifts, and family traditions like singing the 12 days of Christmas. Waking up Christmas morning with all the gifts under the tree was always her favorite.  Lisa has always wanted to be a mom. She tends to turn into mom when she is around her niece and nephews, and she can’t wait to pass that love onto her own child.


AJ was born and raised in Virginia where he graduated with an engineering degree from Virginia Tech.  After college he moved to Alabama to work for TVA as an engineer.  Once Lisa and he started dating, he decided to move to Ohio so they could be together.  He now works as an engineer in Columbus.  AJ’s mom was born and raised in Central Ohio, so he has a lot of extended family here.  His parents, sister and niece live in Virginia where he grew up.  He does miss the mountains, so we often travel to visit his family in Virginia.  AJ loves horticulture, and every summer he grows vegetables in our back yard garden.   He also has a variety of house plants.   Orchids are his favorite.  When not in the garden, AJ spends his spare time working on cars, building model engines, fixing things around the house, or just tinkering at his workbench.  He is a true engineer at heart.  AJ’s favorite holiday is Halloween.  Every year he looks forward to carving a pumpkin, dressing up in a costume, and handing out candy to all the neighborhood kids.


Our fur Baby: Tinkerbell

Tinkerbell found Lisa in 2005 when she showed up at her parent’s house on their front porch, and they have been inseparable ever since.  When AJ came into Lisa’s life, he bonded with Tinkerbell immediately.  We love our little fur baby and she keeps us on our toes!

Contact us about this family

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.